Duke Animal Hospital
Caring For Your Pets
3941 N Ashland Ave, Chicago, Illinois 773-697-9757
Call: (773) 697-9757

Testimonials

We are always striving to provide your pet with superior care.  Here is what some of our pet parents have to say about our practice: 

They helped us with our guinea pig when we were in a pinch. They also gave us important information and even looked up regular vets for us. They're absolutely wonderful.

Ash C., on Google June 2019

6:45 am, I called to leave a message and to my surprise someone answered the phone (wonderful support staff). Panicked and calling about a sick dog, the voice on the other end calmed me down and got me in to see the doctor at 7 am! Dr. Davis was the most empathetic doctor I've ever encountered!
She explained in detail every step of the way Sammy's course of treatment. She took care of my pug with kit gloves. I thank you for making Sammy's transition painless and being so kind. Pugs and Kisses!

Karine B., on Yelp June 2019

This is by far the most professional and friendly vet office in town. They are super transparent when it comes to cost. I would not take my puppy anywhere else. They also do have very convenient hours in the evening and weekends.

James A., on Google May 2019

This was a wonderful hospital for my babies. Duke is really honest and upfront about charges. They do not perform services without your consent. They follow up a few days after your appointments. This is one of the only vets in Chicago that accepts reptiles. The area is cozy and the use of purple is just about everywhere. There is coffee or water for anyone coming in, and the area is cleaned every night. I would (and have) recommend others to go here for their animal needs.

Mry W., on Yelp April 2019

Let me just start off by saying that my two cats have high anxiety about many things going on in their life (because sleeping, eating, and pooping is so rough). So being a first time patient here was a little nerve racking for my husband and I, and our two (fur) children. But when we arrived, they were both calm and the whole place was super serene! The cats even got to check out the turtle!!
Everyone that helped today was absolutely amazing. You can tell that they actually care about animals and their well-being. They were very thorough about vaccinations, what they were, why they got them and answered any and all questions that we had!
Our cats were super chill about exploring the room we were in and not freaking about about noises behind the doors. Overall, this is one of the best experiences I've ever had at a veterinary clinic, and we will be back.

Cassandra W., on Yelp March 2019

Doctors and staff are great. First time here. On a Sunday! They explain procedure and cost before anything is done. I have been to many veterinarians with my pets. Duke by far stands out.
My cat needed hospilization, I felt completely confident in their care for her.

Beatris U., on Google March 2019

Great friendly staff. Place is super clean and nice. The prices are very fair. They take great care of your animals and provide realistic recommendations. They spend the time to discuss with you the different options and possible outcomes. They are very passionate and knowledgeable about animals. I would trust them with my pets life again and again. Postoperation care is amazing. They really make sure the pets are fully recovered before sending them home. All around great place, highly recommend!

Chad R., on Google February 2019

I hate going to the vet with my cats, but i had an emergency and decided to being Bolt here. Was a great experience! The vet was really kind and professional. She answered all my questions without making me feel i shouldnt ask questions. She explained everything and gave me peace of mind. The staff were very attentive as well. The long hours that the hospital has are also very conveniente. Great vet! I would def recommend it.

Vanessa F., on Yelp May 2019

I can't say enough about this place. They got me and my little old pooch in last minute Thursday night and yesterday morning for emergency surgery. The staff puts you at ease and makes every step a little less stressful. Everyone was so helpful and kind from the start. My new go to place for any medicine assistance. Another thank you Dr. Ashley & rest of staff for even emailing this morning to follow up with us. 100/10 best place ever!

JP., on Yelp March 2019

I've had a great experience at Duke and definitely recommend them. My dog Hank is skittish and nervous in new places and the staff have all been wonderfully patient and kind towards him, never rushing him and asking what they can do to make him more comfortable. Being a vet tech seems like a difficult job but the staff have been so friendly and helpful and they never make me feel bad when Hank dives under the waiting room chairs and refuses to walk into a room! I love that I can schedule appointments online and I am very grateful that Dr. Davis has replied to my emails (which she isn't paid for) when I've had medication questions.

This morning at 7:30am I called the office to ask if I should come in because Hank has an irritated eye. The office was closed (which I didn't know but of course makes sense because it's -20 out) but Dr. Duke had the office phone forwarded to her cell phone. She patiently listened to my concerns and laid out options and recommendations for me. I was touched that she would take the time to that when she wasn't even in the office, and so relieved to talk to a vet about my concerns.

Bria B., on Yelp January 2019

We have a couple of guinea pigs and needed to find a vet for one of them since he had a few lumps that needed to be removed. We booked to see Dr. Duke and had a quick, easy, first vet visit and a super successful surgery a week later. Dr. Duke and her staff are very friendly, courteous, and knowledgeable. It is so great to find a vet who you can trust and know that they care about your little ones as much as you do. Thank you Dr. Duke!

Ashley L, on Google January 2019

Duke Animal Hospital has always provided exceptional, loving care for our Boston. We even moved away and remain loyal to Duke Animal Hospital despite the travel inconvenience. Our girl LOVES visiting the vet! Thank you to everyone at Dr. Duke's for taking such good care of all of us!

As a bonus they work with a great trainer there. We did the puppy classes and our five year old still knows the commands we learned there.

Paige O., on Yelp January 2019

I’ve been bringing my dog here for about a year and a half. Great vets and staff. You can really tell that they care so much about animals. Very reasonable pricing, a great deal considering the high level of care they provide.

Taylor B., on Google January 2019

After our favorite vet retired at another animal hospital, we were so happy to have Dr. Gutierrez do a wellness check on our dog. It was nice to finally have a vet care so much. Dr. Gutierrez was very informative and made sure to take all the correct steps. All the staff members made sure we were all comfortable during our wait as well. We will definitely [b]e coming back!

Ester L., on Yelp December 2018

As a first-time cat owner (my family are all dog people) I have been nervous about finding a vet. I've heard so many horror stories and want to make sure my bud is getting the best care possible. Four days ago (Tuesday), I called Duke Animal Hospital to make an appointment. The woman I spoke to was so kind and helpful, and I basically had my choice of appointment days and times, with very minimal wait. I scheduled my appointment for 1 today (Saturday). I know I can be a little overbearing - I ended up calling with questions twice in the three days between scheduling and bringing him in. Both times, the women I spoke with were genuinely sweet and helpful, and instantly put me at ease. I never had to wait for more than four rings before somebody answered the phone, and I called at different times of day each time. Going in today, I was greeted by smiling professionals who seemed to truly enjoy working with animals. My cat instantly liked the vet tech, Corinne, who we met with, and she was very gentle and respectful of him while checking him out. Dr. Gutierrez was patient and talkative, and both she and Corinne were so genuinely kind and helpful the entire time. Though the clinic was apparently busy, it didn't feel like it; neither of them rushed me through anything or made me feel like we needed to hurry it up. They took the time to thoughtfully answer my questions and explain exactly what they were doing with him and the results they found. It was honestly an amazing experience, and with a cat as nervous as mine, it meant the world that all the employees I interacted with seemed to really enjoy their line of work and care about my pet's mental wellbeing as much as his physical health. I'm so glad I found this place! The pricing was very reasonable for a checkup, two vaccines, and his rabies tag, and my cat is less stressed now than he normally is when we have to leave the house. Thank you all for being so wonderful!!! I feel so much better knowing I have a reliable hospital for my little bud.

Daina S., on Yelp November 2018

Such a great vet! I have two cats and I have had such a positive experience with Duke Animal Hospital. They have multiple vets (and I have now seen all of them) and keep amazing notes about your pet, so no matter who you see they are prepared to help your animal. They are kind and caring towards anxious pets and also the owners! Free coffee and water, and the facilities are great. I am grateful to live so close and to have found them.

Laura H. on Google, October 2018

I have never had a better vet. They have gone above and beyond for me and my cat, Jade. From the women at the front desk, to the vet techs, to the doctors. When your animals are sick, this sort of compassion is so appreciated. It makes such a difference. Thank You. Thank You. Thank You.

Jill H. on Yelp, June 2018

I can't recommend Duke Animal Hospital enough. When we first started bringing our animals here, Dr. Duke was always there and took the best care of our little friends. The front desk staff are funny and personable in between bouts of phone calls, and the techs love to ply your pets into submission with peanut butter or liver treats. It seems like Duke has expanded the practice a bit and there are more vets than there were previously, but each one that I've met I'd gladly see again to have them care for our pets. They really are pretty great and your pets will probably think so too.

Thomas R. on Google, April 2018

I found Duke Animal Hospital when trying to find emergency care for my kitty who had become lethargic. Scheduling was immediate, easy, and handled by friendly staff. Dr. Santiago was upfront with her experience with the situation which was confirmed by x-ray and blood work. She gave me options, but was reassuring and sympathetic when I decided to put my kitty to sleep. Dr. Santiago, the tech, and office staff could not have been kinder.

Because of scheduling, my other cat is now seen by Dr. Davis. Dr. Davis is extremely knowledgeable and I know Sweet T is in good hands.

I am impressed with Duke Animal Hospital on every visit. I don't live in the neighborhood, and there are other vets closer, but I can't imagine having my cat cared for elsewhere.

Megan F. on Yelp, February 2018

We've used Duke Animal Hospital for our three cats, and I do not hesitate to tell people they are the best vet in the city, period. They take great care in building a profile of your pet, and giving you honest opinions when it comes to solving health issues, instead of going straight for the most expensive treatment. They also are happy to let you know when an option may be a waste of time. All the staff are very friendly and compassionate. Highly recommended!

Brad B. on Google, October 2017

This place is great. There is a reason that the reviews are consistently positive across the board.

Our dog was in an accident over the weekend and sustained two rib fractures. He was traumatized by the event and wouldn't let anyone handle him. When we presented to Duke, a team immediately came out and began to treat him, even though they were about to close. They medicated him and coordinated treatment with a 24-hour animal hospital, which is where he was transported once stabilized.

I am very thankful that we went to the right place in a desperate situation. With the help of a sympathetic and competent team, our baby is doing much better and is making a speedy recovery.

Francesca V. on Yelp, August 2017

Contact Us

We encourage you to contact us with any questions or comments you may have. Please call our office or use the quick contact form below.
SpamBlocker
 
ACCESSIBILITY